3 layer flower

Sorry I have not updated in such a long time. I had a very serious health issue. I won’t bore you with the details, but I am back to my old self and stitching temari again.
While looking through my temari books and online photo galleries I rediscovered the 3 layer flower. Here are a couple of temari I have stitched. Both were stitched from my head so I don’t have any patterns to reference.

If you look closely at the flowers you will see a small difference in the way they are stitched. On the C10 I let a lot of the first layer, purple star, show.  Now look at the first uwagake chadori stitches. On the C10 they are elongated and pulled in with the second row.

On the C8 I also elongated the first white stitch, but with the top layer of the flower I did not pull it all the way in. I stitched around the point of the first layer star. This hid much of the star. I had to do it because I did not have a space to stitch in as I did on the C10. If I had dropped my stitch down below the star point it would have compromised the shape of my top layer flower petal.

I really like how the C10 turned out. It makes me want to stitch it in silk. With the C8; I like the flower, but  I am less happy with the over all look of the temari.  It just seems like there is too much space. Perhaps if it were stitched with invisible guide lines I would like it better.

About joanztemari

My hobby is temari, a Japanese art form of embroidery on a ball. I have been stitching temari for approximately 11 years and I am still as interested in exploring this beautiful art as I was the day I discovered it.
This entry was posted in Temari Ball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 3 layer flower

  1. Gini Jones says:

    Would it be possible to get detailed instructions on how you made the 3 layer flower. I have the c10 done and did my first star and am trying to workout where you made the white stitching at and also the green. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much, Gini Jones

    • joanztemari says:

      The directions for the flower is on http://WWW.temarikai.com pattern # JZ12. The color is different but the extra guidelines are the same. The white is the first row for the second layer of the flower. This temari is stitched on a 42 face Mari. That is why you don’t know where the green is stitched.
      T his pattern is an original and I hold t he copyright. It may not be copied for profit.

  2. starhandarts says:

    The 3 layer flower is gorgeous, love the way the forms work together.

Leave a Reply

