S12 Renzoku – Different Paths Different looks.

I am calling these star renzoku because they all require extra guidelines in the shape of a star.

Even though they are all the same marking a small change in the stitch path can make a big difference in the over all look of the finished temari.

I did have to change the length of the star points on the extra guide lines in order to accommodate the change in stitching.

The first S12 star renzoku that I stitched I found that I had to stitch 2 layers to get six points. (see photo in last blog) I wanted to change that and I did by changing the stitch path at the pole, but I found that the hexagon that was formed was too large and a bit sloppy. I thought about it and wondered what would happen if I changed the stitch path at the petal point. Once I did that it opened lots of possibilities.

In the first photo of the top row I simply moved my petal point over 1 guide line. That allowed me to make one pass and have six petal points. In the first photo of the second row I turned the petal point into a W by stitching Kiku herringbone (uwagaki chadori).

In the second photo of the top row I left my pattern at 3 points and stitched two layers; in between rows I added a kiku herringbone that was not a part of the renzoku stitch path.  In the third photo I stitched 4 layers of a 3 point renzoku path.

In the last two photos of the second row I followed a 6 point path but I brought my petal point below the equator so that I would get a diamond effect.

About joanztemari

My hobby is temari, a Japanese art form of embroidery on a ball. I have been stitching temari for approximately 11 years and I am still as interested in exploring this beautiful art as I was the day I discovered it.
This entry was posted in Renzoku, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to S12 Renzoku – Different Paths Different looks.

  1. Hi Joan
    I am enjoying your blog so much. I have been looking at your pics and trying to trace out the stitching paths.

    I love the top right one on this post… time to get out my pencil again.
    x
    Rebecca from Perth

  2. Julie M says:

    Beautiful! I love them all, especially the last one on the right of the top row. I think I will be stitching a while before I can figure that one out. 🙂
    Your blog is fantastic…I’m learning.

    • joanztemari says:

      Thank you Julie,
      You are the second one to tell me the top right temari is your favorite, so I guess that one is a keeper. Although I would like to come up with a way to make the center look better.

Leave a Reply

